PDA

View Full Version : New spinning instructor

rdsd1228
02-20-2003, 04:07 AM
I am a new spinning instructor and teach a strength ride and endurance ride. I hear conflicting information about how each should be taught. Does anyone have any input? Also, does anyone have any suggestions regarding cycling shoes? Thanks!

Irulan
02-20-2003, 07:00 AM
for shoes, I would spend a little more and get ones with a rigid sole, not the "sneakers with cleats" type. The foot gets less tired with a rigid sole, and you have better transferrence of energy to the pedal.

I'm just a participant, not a teacher so the only advice I can give you is to have really good music... no disco or pop and please do not sing along.'

Irulan

goddess1222
02-20-2003, 10:18 AM
i second Irulan. music is key. it can make or break a ride. and she is right about no pop music.

i purchased road shoes so i could go clipless in class. it didn't work for me because i had one cleat i couldn't get lined up perfectly, and it messed with my knee. since my road shoes are Looks, and the spin bikes are SPD's, i think my knees didn't like being locked in with no float.

if you do get cycling shoes, i agree with Irulan about getting road shoes with a rigid sole. BUT, MAKE SURE THE CLEATS ARE LINED UP PROPERLY. i had a hard time only because i can't take the spin bike down to the lbs and have them do it. you may want to ask another participant in your class who already has clipless to help you out. otherwise, check out "zinn and the art of road bike maintenance." he gives a great explanation on how to begin cleat line up.

han-grrl
02-21-2003, 12:49 PM
Hi there

i started teaching back in november. recently i tried to focus on being more mad dog specific with my teaching. it actually worked well.