PDA

View Full Version : What are you better at due to Spin Class?

Miranda
08-17-2009, 03:31 PM
For those of you that would consider yourself primarily roadies / mtb... aka: outside peeps-- who use Spinning as an off-season activity and/or compliment...

What would you say to my title post?

Intervals? Pedal stroke technique? Smoothing out your cadence? Other?

I'm curious for various reasons.

Well, I will answer first... I would say all of the above. Plus some.

I was a Spinner first. Then re-found my love for riding outside. I road cycle primarily, and mtb a little. Plus, now I'm a Spinning Instructor. It won't be long before they all start piling in (cooler weather is coming). I've been recruiting whilst riding outside too;):D.

However... there are some peeps I know, that I would *think* could improve in some areas with Spinning. Like keeping a steady cadence...

Since doing the club rides, I'm sorta amazed at all the "pedal, pedal, *coast stroke*" I see. There is no coasting on a Spin bike. It's like a fixie. I think I'm personally a more steady road rider because of it.

Funny story too... I had one new roadie show up in my class to specifically improve his intervals. His male ego was bruised that his buddy could out-sprint him. When he asked the buddy, "...how did you develop to do that?... the reply--Spinning class intervals!". Hmm...

That was rather enlightening for me as an instructor. So, just curious what others' experiences might be and how I can help my students:cool:.

TYIA:)
Miranda

redrhodie
08-19-2009, 05:58 AM
I was thinking about this as I rode this morning, and the thing spinning most helped me with was standing. I don't spin any more, but all those drills of standing, then recovering, were helpful in getting used to that action.

maillotpois
08-19-2009, 06:14 AM