PDA

View Full Version : AIDS century -- Ithaca NY

abarensfeld7
07-01-2005, 08:13 AM
Hi ladies...
Wondering if anyone in this forum is planning on riding the Sept 10 century around Cayuga Lake?

yzylan
07-09-2005, 06:12 AM
I've never done a century, though I ride a reasonable amount. Any thoughts on how hard this would be for a first-timer? I'm new to central NY and just getting a handle on the terrain...

Trek420
07-09-2005, 07:59 AM
Yz,

you can do this! You say you ride a "reasonable ammount". Everything's relative so how far do you ride now?

There are links here to training guides for a century on this thread

http://forums.teamestrogen.com/showthread.php?t=3182&highlight=century

check those out and tell the nice ladies on TE where you fit into that, we'll help 8-)

If you can ride a metric century or training ride before this ride you will be fine.

I don't advise people to do this, it's do as I say not as I do. For ALC3 and ALC4 my longest training rides were 30 miles. I did the Cinderellla beforehand both years (easy metric) just 50 miles of the Primavera this year (kick your b*** century, forgot my helmet, DOH, started late and did only the first but hardest part). Yet this year I did all but 10 miles of the 7 day ride 585 mile which includes two centuries. Wasn't the fastest thing on 2 wheels but I felt good.

What was different this year is I increased the intensity. Once a week I did hill repeats, or a hard spin class or what Spazzdog describes here, jumps:

http://forums.teamestrogen.com/showthread.php?t=3242&highlight=jumps