PDA

View Full Version : Weights anybody?

Dogmama
12-18-2002, 01:39 PM
Miss Liz talked about weight training a few times and I'd like to echo what she said about cross training. It's really important to keep muscle mass, therefore bone mass, at an optimal level. I weight train 3-4X/week, a "push/pull" split. I really love it because it isn't boring, you can get through it fairly quickly and it really works. Plus, when serious cycling starts in the Spring, you'll be amazed how much stronger your legs are uphill.

Also, I'd much rather have defined arms than the bird arms I see on the aerobic bunnies in the gym. (oooh...was that out loud?):p

Kim

Irulan
12-18-2002, 05:07 PM
How much time do you spend in the gym?

I used to be a competitive body builder (years ago) and spent 3+ hours a day in the gym, 6 days a week. Yeah the results were awesome... but I had a moment one day in front of the mirror whne I realized since I was not actually competing, just training "as if" if were *what *was * the*point.

This was a long time ago, and since then I've gone in and out of it as as augmentation to being ready for my other sports. My body responds really well to weight training but right now I am at a place where I just can not stand to be inside, in the gym. When I do use weights, it's more from a wellness and cross training POV. I've got some back/neck/shoulder issues that really benefit from light weights.

I've always conditioned for ski season with weights and a lot of gym training. Funny thing is, last year I didn't pre-train, I just kept on riding my mountain bike and I was equally if not better conditioned than if I had prepared in the gym.

Irulan

goddess1222
12-19-2002, 09:56 AM
i weight train a ton. especially for cycling. posture is important. i was told by a cycling coach that i had great posture which is something you don't see with cyclists.