PDA

View Full Version : If anyone else struggles with sleeping on long hair

DebTX
02-10-2009, 11:18 AM
This is "way" off topic with cycling - but I think I just solved a longstanding problem and thought I'd share in case there are fellow sufferers.

I'm kinda new to having longish hair. And now that I'm 40+, and I color the grey, my longish hair is pretty dry and brittle. Each morning I wake up to a tangled mess, and typically have to condition it in the shower to detangle it and then restyle it with hot tools.

I just searched some "long hair" websites for solutions, and they recommended using a satin sleep cap (I even found one with a tie in the back, so its adjustable for fit, unlike the "shower cap" kind with elastic that would be uncomfortable.) They said I would wake up tangle-free and it would diminish nightime breakage.

Anyhoo - if anyone else is struggling with tangled, matted hair in the AM (and at my age it doesn't help to wash and restyle it daily), this may be the answer. I can't wait for it to arrive, the testimonials made me hopeful that maybe I can stop all this breakage that I've been attributing to perimenopuase. The problem, these women tell me, may actually be caused by the friction against cotton linens as I toss and turn all night.

Biciclista
02-10-2009, 11:24 AM
my hair is so crummy that i can't get it very long anymore, but my great grandmother :D braided her hair every night of her life. It puts a nice wave in your hair and there's no knots.

Do you have a link for the satin cap? that sounds nice.

DebTX
02-10-2009, 11:39 AM
Do you have a link for the satin cap? that sounds nice.

Here ya go:
http://www.maverickwear.com/

If you click on 'order form', you'll see it's $11.95 I think. Not the most sophisticated website, but the women on this "long hair" board were raving about it. And lots of them had photos with waist length hair (far longer than me).

sfa
02-10-2009, 11:42 AM