PDA

View Full Version : How do I fight "the queasies"?

effulgent
05-20-2005, 07:06 AM
I'm still new to this riding thing, so I hope this question doesn't sound odd. Pretty often, in the middle of my ride (30 min in), I get really queasy like I'm going to throw up . One time I had eaten lunch about 30 minutes before we went out, but last night, I rode before dinner and only had a snack of peanuts, dried apricots and a V-8 so I wouldn't be starving during our ride. The queasy feeling is HORRIBLE! When I got home, I basically drank a full glass of water and then passed out on the bed for 15 minutes, and then I was fine.

I think I might be getting overheated because I am so out of shape. Also, I have rosacea and my face turns beet red when I ride. If anyone has any advice, I'd sure appreciate it. Maybe I should just eat apples or carrots and water before a ride? I need to figure out what to eat before a night ride, because that's the time that I am most likely going to be riding during the week, after work but before dinner.

DeniseGoldberg
05-20-2005, 07:14 AM
I suspect the V-8 wouldn't really agree with me either, although I think the peanuts and apricots would be OK.

I don't find apples to be a good energy fruit - I think you'd be better off with a banana.

When I ride after work, I usually grab a yogurt smoothie and sometimes a banana, sometimes an energy bar, usually a Pria bar. I also drink Gatorade as I ride. I haven't had any experience like the one you're describing though. My initial suggestion would be to change the food you are using as your before ride snack. Are you riding at an easy pace, or are you really trying to push yourself? Maybe back off on the pace a little bit. Maybe try eating your snack a little earlier - as in not right before you ride. (Although I haven't had a problem with light snacks before and during my rides...)

--- Denise

effulgent
05-20-2005, 07:49 AM