PDA

View Full Version : Buying spinning shoes

julesey
10-22-2008, 09:35 AM
I have been spinning 4 times a week for a few months now and I love it! Just lately I've been having a lot of foot pain when I'm standing up on my bike and I decided it's time to invest in a good pair of cycling shoes instead of just wearing my sneakers.

I am a senior in college and I'm hoping to invest in a decent road bike in about a year when I graduate and can afford it. I'm hoping to get some road shoes now that I can use for both indoor spinning and riding outdoors once I get my bike.

Any suggestions?

Smilie
10-22-2008, 09:43 AM
I wear a pair of mountain biking shoes when I spin or on my road bike. I had the pedals changed to fit my shoes. I think they are Shimanos.

I am sure someone else will give you more helpful info! Welcome to TE.

aicabsolut
10-22-2008, 10:03 AM
Given your foot pain and desire to get a road bike, I would advise you to get some decent enough road or mountain shoes for the spin classes that are on sale and not top of the line. A fiberglass/plastic sole will be just fine for spinning. Stiff enough for that yet cheap, and it'd be easier to find a road shoe with the 2 bold SPD pattern. (I'm assuming that you're using those double sided pedals and it's not a place where you can bring in your own pedals). These shoes could easily cost less than your running shoes and will last forever for spin workouts.

Then when you get a road bike, get a nice pair of road shoes that are a bit stiffer (carbon if you can afford it and don't have any foot problems that would make carbon bad for you like a nerve problem, etc.). With these shoes, get a wide platform road pedal system like SPD-SL, Look, Speedplay, etc. This will probably give you the better comfort and performance you will be looking for with your road bike.