PDA

View Full Version : AeroBars

RoadRaven
05-14-2005, 01:36 PM
Hi there everyone

Although I'm not a brand new rider, I am new to aero bars...

I did a search for aerobars and for aero bars and didn't find anything that obviously answered the question I'm about to ask

I ultimately want to time trial at a competitive level in club races

Of course, part of this is using "the gear". My partner has fitted some aero bars to my lovely red pony, and suggested I just have a go when I feel comfortable...

Advice from my family has been - not down-hill, not in a cross-wind, not when with others...

So I have been trying to use them and I can see how they will eventually feel comfortable, but right now they feel incredibly foreign and not part of me at all (comparing it to how the bike feels like an extension of me)

I use only on flat straights, but can only seem to manage a few hundred metres (read yards) at a time before i feel like I'm gonna wobble outta control...

Any hints from anyone out there? How best to minimise the wobbles and increase the balance? How long before they feel like an extension of my arms?

Thanks in anticipation...

singletrackmind
05-14-2005, 06:06 PM
I used aerobars for the first time during RAGBRAI and by 200 miles more or less (less than 3 days) they felt normal (other than my knees kept smacking into my boobs) and (otherwise) comfortable.

As for the wobbles/balance thing, since my main ride is a mountain bike I think a lot of balance things came from my experience with it. For the wobbles-go faster, but don't crash! I'd feel horrible if you crashed because you went faster so make sure you feel pretty sure of yourself first.

I think it will really depend on you and your balance and of course, amount of time you spend on them. :)

Roadrunner
05-15-2005, 05:05 AM