PDA

View Full Version : St. Joe state park mountain bike trails?

fastdogs
09-15-2008, 05:11 PM
I have the option of two group rides this weekend- the "flat as a floodplain" ride up by St. Charles on Sunday, or "pedal the parkland" on Saturday. The Saturday ride offers the option of a 14 mile mountain bike ride.
I've never been to St. Joe park- I am a rookie mountain biker. I am fat and 50 years old. Will I die on the trails at St. Joe? I've ridden some of the trails at castlewood, mostly stinging nettle. I've ridden bangert island, and the trail at lion's club park in rolla. If the hills are steep I'll be walking up them.
I've read all the reviews I can find. One said it was great for the whole family; but I suspect they meant the paved bike trail there. Has anyone ridden this trail and can give me an idea what sort of challenges to expect?
I'm just planning in case my husband can't get off work Sunday, which means I won't be able to do the flat as a floodplain ride.
I may be too much of a beginner to be thinking about a group ride on a mtb trail, but if it's not too bad it would be a rare opportunity to ride a new trail and not be all by myself.
vickie

singletrackmind
09-15-2008, 05:36 PM
I've ridden the trail they use as a race course and it's rocky and steep in places. Harder than the upper parts of Castlewood at those points, about the same as C'wood in others, really closer to Chubb in difficulty. I wouldn't call those particular sections of the trail a beginner trail though my sister's done it as a beginner with little experience. She's tough but then again, so are you. :D

I have to admit that's pretty much the only trail I am familiar with out there and don't know what else there is or if this is the one they're riding.