PDA

View Full Version : Tri-specific saddles

trigirl97
04-28-2005, 08:33 AM
Hey everyone,
Sorry for the cross post but I am new to the forum and just found the triathlon board.

After only a 15-mile ride last night, I realized it's good my partner and I aren't having kids because my bike is likely going to halt that!

So, here's my situation...I ride a road bike with clip-on aerobars for triathlons. I have been riding for four years and when straight road cycling (no aero position), I loved my Serfas women's Rx saddle.

But with the Serfas, I found the cutout got smashed when I dropped into my aerobars, and as others have so cleverly referred, my 'girlbits' got pummeled.

I've tried the Terry Butterfly Tri Gel and recently added a DeSoto neoprene seat cover. Still no relief. In fact, last night was ready to throw my bike in the lake last night out of frustration.

But I LOVE riding and don't want to grimace every time I think about hopping on my bike.

Have any of you had success with saddles that you use in the aero position?I've read online that using ones with no cutout are best. I'm looking at trying the San Marco Aspide or Azoto. Anyone tried these?

Thanks for any help/feedback!

trigurl
04-28-2005, 11:37 AM
sorry I am no help, I use a specialized cut out and love it! I don't use aerobars right now - I hope I don't have that problem when I get them. This is the first saddle that HASN'T hurt me! Could it be your shorts? I have had problems with mine, they tend to bunch up and cause rubbing. I have one pair that doesn't and they happen to be bright turquoise :eek:

I hope you have some luck soon, someone here may be able to help you.

madisongrrl
05-28-2005, 08:34 AM