PDA

View Full Version : has spinning improved your speed on the bike?

cindysue
04-21-2005, 05:15 PM
I'm slow on the road bike. I tend to go for the leasurly pace. I just started taking a spin class 2x a week when I can get in (the class is always packed). I'm wondering if those of you taking spin classes have found that it takes you a shorter amount of time to go the same distance (i.e., you're faster)?

Thanks for any and all advice on improving my speed through spin classes and otherwise........

Aramei
04-22-2005, 07:19 AM
I don't know how to answer this question except to say that I know the class has helped my endurance, cardio workout. I am just starting out and took a cycling/yoga class for 6 weeks..once a week. I'm now in a cycling/spinning class for 45 min once a week. My first class was this past Tuesday...was rough, but fun!! LOL I got sick/dizzy about 3/4 of the way through, but I kept going. I think it too is helping my technique of pedaling with clipless and my leg strength.

alison_in_oh
04-22-2005, 07:34 AM
I feel that spinning this winter helped increase my cardio endurance (so my heart doesn't give out before my legs on the climbs, I think that helps me go UP a little faster) and it's trained my cadence so instead of slowly mashing a big gear I'm likely to spin a smaller one and actually travel a little faster with a little less effort. I think it also trained my pedalstroke to be more efficient.

trigurl
04-26-2005, 09:38 AM
I have used the spin cycles all winter and found I have no problems when riding outside now, actually I probably work a little harder in class than I do outside, except when I ride on the parkway, it is very hilly.

To me you do get as good a cardio workout or better depending on the terrain in your area.

RoadRaven
04-26-2005, 02:43 PM
I'm still new to spinning - I find I can ride further when i spin, although I believe deep down I am a masher...
;)