PDA

View Full Version : Cut out the dairy?

CarbonCandy
07-08-2008, 06:48 PM
Love milk. Love it, love it, love it, especially chocolate. Rumor has it, and I've heard quite a few rumors, that cutting milk out of your diet can help with losing weight. In addition to this, I've also heard drinking milk dairy is good and can aid in weight loss.

So ladies, I ask you this. What have you heard? And what have you personally done/achieved/accomplished, with or with out the cow juice?

grey
07-08-2008, 06:58 PM
Ok this is just me.
I started playing around with my diet about a year ago. I have ALWAYS, always loved milk. I used to drink a gallon every two days.

Then I tried being vegetarian. I found I felt more energetic, and had also heard that when people go vegan, they feel even better. So I tried it for a month... and I haven't looked back.

Cutting out milk and cheese did a LOT for me. I used to have AWFUL, I mean horrid horrid periods (vomiting, chills, lots of pain down my back and legs, bad bad bad). No more pain. I had my first 'accident' because none of the signs were there, and I'm 31!

More, I used to have 3 headaches a week. Now I get about three per month, and I usually know WHY I have a headache now.

More? I was starting to feel arthritic. My hands were losing their grip, and it hurt to grab anything heavy like a pot full of food. My hips and ankles were feeling it a little too, especially in the mornings.

No more dairy, no more problems. My theory is, there are SO MANY hormones in dairy these days, that it interferes with our own hormones. RBgH, anyone?

I have also noticed that if I cheat (I still love cheese, and if we go out to eat, it's virtually impossible to get a vegan meal) I have less endurance the next day. Could be in my head, but I don't think so. I can have 2-3 cheats per month and not incur any painful penalties at the end of the month. ;)