PDA

View Full Version : I think I can...I think I can!

heartmenderRN
04-09-2005, 07:31 PM
I'm new here and just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. My name is Cindy. I'm a nurse and I live in Kentucky. I am fairly new to road cycling . I will be participating in my first ride with a new bike club in 2 weeks! I'm very excited about meeting new friend and learning from other people who love to cycle,but I'm also very nervous....You see I'm VERY overweight and this first ride is 35 miles. I've been doing indoor spinning classes 2-3 days a week for over a year,but i'm not sure if I am adequately prepared for a 35 mile ride! Any words of encouragement or advice would be greatly appreciated. :D

AutumnBreez
04-10-2005, 12:35 AM
You have to start somewhere right?! Allow yourself some room for change. Riding your bike will be a nice new experience from spinning as you will get fresh air, and change of scenery!
I don't know how much you are getting out on your bike since you got it. Were you fitted for it? and if you are having any issues with the saddle. If you are not fitted well and/or the saddle is not allowing your sit bones to rest properly you may come into problems within the first hour...only speaking from experience and reading others beginnings. I believe that the long ride with your new friends will be more enjoyable if you are comfortable and not in pain. If you are doing well on your saddle for an hour or more then you will do fine. If you can get out everyday for an hour ride before meeting with new club you will feel more confident and have time to bond with your new bike (know if you need to do anything-little or big adjustments to be made, etc. )
Wish you lots of fun on your new bike journeys, and welcome Cindy to the TE Forums!

AutumnBreez
04-10-2005, 12:44 AM
Are you just learning the clipless pedals?
If so, getting out as much as possible will also bring you comfort before going with club.