PDA

View Full Version : Pain "Down There"

cityslicker
09-20-2002, 05:56 AM
Hello ladies, I am a relative newbie, I purchased a Giant OCR 2 in June and am training with a group for my first century in 2 weeks in Florida. After riding about 40-50 miles my crotch kills. I have a decent pair of women's chamois shorts, should I change my saddle or wait until afer the ride? Any advice would be greatly appreciated-

pennys
09-20-2002, 09:02 AM
what's the problem? Pressure? Chafing? Depending on the probelm it can be anything from a different pair of shorts, a different saddle or just breaking your butt in to riding....

cityslicker
09-20-2002, 12:19 PM
Pennies,

Its soreness right on my area and not my butt. Its not chafing and it just is very painful I don't know if its my saddle. I actually put a different saddle on my bike than the one it came with it its by Serfas but I don't know which model. I was told not to make any major changes to my bike this close to the ride. I don't know if its me or the saddle. Thanks for your reply:(

DoubleLori
09-20-2002, 01:30 PM
Cityslicker,

I once changed my saddle one week before a double century after developing severe pain. The new saddle was a ride-saver and I rode the double without any problem. Don't stay with your saddle when you already know it is putting pressure in the wrong places. It most likely won't get better. (Pain over your "SITBONES" is to be expected and will improve greatly with more riding, but that is unlike to happen with pain that is in other locations. It may take a while to find the "right" saddle for you, but in the interim try to make a guess for which one(s) to try next by comparing the shapes of saddles that are available to you with the one you already have. I fortunately managed to guess correctly and the saddle I bought on that short notice is still my favorite saddle of all the ones I have tried.

liner
09-22-2002, 03:37 AM