PDA

View Full Version : question down under

georgialaw
03-27-2005, 04:34 PM
I recently started riding and am having problems with yeast infections. I wear perl izumi cycling shorts with no underwear. I am a new triathlete so I swim in my cycling shorts (racing only) much of the time. Does anyone have any suggestions?

LBTC
03-27-2005, 05:57 PM
ouch
it's never a pretty thing
I usually get them early in the season then somehow get used to it, and don't get them so often

I wouldn't be surprised if riding in wet shorts is problematic.

I mountain bike (and road bike to train) and feel like a complete geek that I change out of my shorts into anything else right after the ride...but that does seem to help

do you eat much yogurt? that contains a lot of the good bacteria needed to control that yeast...

and there's always fluconazole....one pill and a few days later everything is happy again!

I'll be interested to see if there are any other suggestions....

Namaste,
~T~

madisongrrl
03-27-2005, 10:42 PM
When you are done riding, immediately remove your bike shorts and maybe hop in the shower... Do you have a few different pairs of shorts that you can rotate and wash after every use?

CorsairMac
03-28-2005, 10:57 AM
did you have problems with yeast infections before you started riding or only after?

neuroticcyclist
03-30-2005, 04:28 PM
Ditto what the others say - dry it out down there immediately.

My friends who do tris use special, lighter shorts than regular cycling shorts since they apparently breathe better and dry while on the bike before the run.

LBTC
03-30-2005, 09:56 PM
so I found a different saddle on girlbike called the saddleco flow....totally breathes....I'm looking at giving it a try and I'll let you know if the theory works for a fairly light girl on a road bike. I checked a review site - those that loved it LOVED it (mostly girls) those that didn't like it HATED it - they mostly broke it - I'm guessing it would only suit lighter riders.