PDA

View Full Version : A question about cut-outs that's probably been asked before

slinkedog
03-22-2005, 10:30 PM
I'm currently riding (between trainer and road) about 7 hours a week on my bike. I've been riding bout that frequently for about 2 months, now. (Should my privates be pretty tough by now?) My saddle is a Terry Butterfly Tri Gel and it does have a cut out in the center.

Now for the question: Are my privates supposed to fall down into the cut-out? The cut-out in my Terry is way too narrow for that to be happening. It doesn't seem to make a whole lot of difference to have the cut out if everything just ends up mashed on top of it anyway. I've been researching saddles for a while now, and it looks like the cut-out in the Selle Italia and some of the Serfas saddles is wider and I wonder if that might be a good thing, or would it pinch?

Any advice, Ladies?

bounceswoosh
03-23-2005, 07:12 AM
I'm currently riding (between trainer and road) about 7 hours a week on my bike. I've been riding bout that frequently for about 2 months, now. (Should my privates be pretty tough by now?) My saddle is a Terry Butterfly Tri Gel and it does have a cut out in the center.

Now for the question: Are my privates supposed to fall down into the cut-out? The cut-out in my Terry is way too narrow for that to be happening. It doesn't seem to make a whole lot of difference to have the cut out if everything just ends up mashed on top of it anyway. I've been researching saddles for a while now, and it looks like the cut-out in the Selle Italia and some of the Serfas saddles is wider and I wonder if that might be a good thing, or would it pinch?

Any advice, Ladies?

Erm, I think most everyone agrees that stuff falling into the cutout is bad. The idea of the cutout is simply to relieve direct pressure, not to let things relocate.