PDA

View Full Version : Clipless, you can do it.

GenHawk
03-21-2005, 05:00 PM
Since I'm new to "modern" cycling and clipless seems to be popular topic I thought I'd post my experience.

Since I'm an impoverished grad student, and still don't know if I want to do clipless, I bought shoes on eBay and pedals on internet clearance. Which meant I had to set it up myself, since I wouldn't ask the LBS to install something I didn't buy there. It wasn't very hard to get it all put together.

I tried it out in my kitchen doorway, first one foot clipped in - and out - then the other - then both... and lost my balance at tipped right over. Bounced off the stove and onto the tile floor; luckily I broke the fall with my wrist. :eek:

Today I rode to the LBS (about 1.5 miles) and back with no problems. It didn't feel any different than without them, tomorrow I will be going on a longer ride. Anyway, now I'm thinking "gee, that wasn't so bad," although I'm still deathly afraid of tipping over onto San Mateo (busy street).

Gen

shewhobikes
03-21-2005, 05:21 PM
You and I can go into clipless land together! My LBS guy, what a sweetie, advised me to get used to my new road bike (Cannondale SR800) for a few weeks on platforms. Good thing or I might have freaked and bailed out altogether. Having put some mileage behind me, I'm going to put clipless pedals on this week. Thought about a church parking lot, but the kitchen door might be another alternative! Let's try not to break anything! I'll report back in...

cyclingnewbie
03-21-2005, 06:34 PM