PDA

View Full Version : Century Training

jehocu03
05-05-2008, 11:27 AM
Hey ladies! I am new to cycling and LOVE it! I have posted on here before (about clipless pedals) and found the information wonderful, so I have decided to post again!

I have decided to work towards riding a century ride (not a race) on Sept 6th. Right now, I can bike about 20 miles in 90-120 minutes, depending on the terrain and wind speed/direction. As a novice cyclist looking to complete a HUGE cycling feat in 4 months time, I would appreciate any advice regarding proper training schedules and/or goals, pre-, post- and on-bike nutrition, etc etc. I'd love to hear about others' century rides and training. Any wisdom you can give me would be great! Any help finding books or websites regarding century training would be great too!

Also, I wanted to know if anyone in MN (specifically the twin cities area) is training for endurance rides like a century and if they would like to train together occasionally or just motivate one another? OR, does anyone in MN know of some good, safe, long training ride routes?

I hope to hear from some of you soon! Thanks!

Jen

spokewench
05-05-2008, 11:51 AM
So, training for a century is like any other training. Your first century, you will not be trying for great speed, but endurance, so you probably just want to train your endurance, first and foremost. So if you are riding 20 miles now and you have 4 months to train May June July August and September, what you want to do is gradually up your mileage on the weekend and various days in succession. How many days a week do you ride now and how far?

So if you ride 20 miles on the weekend and a couple of times during the week, what you want to do is this:

Gradually, up your mileage and time in the saddle.
Up next week to 20 miles on weekend, and three other times during the week go for a ride - 20 miles if you can, if not get what you can in during the week.