PDA

View Full Version : Spin Class No No's

Flybye
04-04-2008, 07:16 PM
Since I am new to the spin class and my instructor can't be much more than, like, say, totally twelve years old :eek: or something :rolleyes: can you spinners give me and other newbies who have recently been won over to spinning some spinning No No's. Tips on what not to follow a trainer in doing or in doing ourselves?

Thankya thankya thankya!

Zen
04-04-2008, 09:47 PM
Pffff hahaha....sorry, I'm laughing because i do whatever i feel like most of the time.

I work hard but if I need more time to recover, I take it. If i don't want to stand, sprint, or climb, I don't.

I don't know what else to tell you.

I think the only thing I could tell you not to do are hamstring stretches while on the bike.

Tuckervill
04-05-2008, 05:02 AM
I don't go to spin classes. I just wanted to say that I try to apply zen's philosophy pretty much to my whole life!! :)

But seriously, I do go to boot camp 3x a week. An interesting exchange between me and the instructor; we were doing a circuit and I was down on the floor doing the ab-roller.

Me: How long are we going? [I need to know this so I'll know when to switch sides.]

He: Go til I tel you to stop (he was tongue-in-cheek, but still)

Me: Ha. I'm secure in the knowledge you can't make me do anything I don't want to do.

He: Were you also a strong-willed child?

Me: I believe the word they used on my report card was "headstrong".

Participate at your own level. Do just what zen said to do. You only submit to their instruction at your pleasure anyway. They can't "make you" do anything at all.

Karen

latelatebloomer
04-05-2008, 05:39 AM
Once a spin "instructor" at our gym had people put the fronts of their bikes up on the plastic blocks used in the step classes. don't do that, 'kay? (things like this happen when management throws any trainer on a bike to lead a class, I hate it.)