PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated

mayfly
12-31-2007, 07:51 AM
Hello All,

I am new to this website, but have to get some opinions on this and appreciate your honest feedback. I have been spinning for a few months now and have recently started instructing as well. I am 5'4" and 178 lbs, so I am not petite by any means. I know I am getting in some intense workouts at least 3 times/week and am feeling very frustrated because the scale is not budging. I actually started at 173, so am actually up 5 lbs. Over the past 5 years I have lost 100 pounds, and am dedicated to the scale. My clothes are not any tighter and I actually thought I looked like I was slimming down a smidge, but the #'s don't reflect how I feel. Help!!!! Has anyone else had weight gain or am I building up different muscles? Thanks!

crazybikinchic
12-31-2007, 08:59 AM
Don't look at the scale. Ask yourself how your clothes are fitting. My scale has not moved, but I have had a rash of people tell me I have lost weight. My shirt size has gone down and I have to continually pull my pants up, therefore my size is what is changing.

coyote
12-31-2007, 11:17 AM
Muscle weighs more then fat. Maybe give the scale up for one that measures body fat percent? My brother swears by them but I personally go by how my cloths fit and the scale. Congrats on having lost the 100lbs. That is quite an accomplishment.

Zen
12-31-2007, 11:50 AM
Muscle weighs more then fat.

One cubic inch of muscle cells weighs more than one cubic inch of fat cells

A muscle cell resembles a pencil (like the kind they give you at Putt-Putt)
A fat cell resembles a marshmallow.

try keeping a food journal for a few days, especially spin days. Are you unconsciously eating more?

If your clothes still fit, don't sweat it. Safe weight loss is a slow process,
+/- 2lbs/week.

LBTC
12-31-2007, 01:12 PM