PDA

View Full Version : Spinning Shoes

PABOYER
12-16-2007, 01:06 PM
Clearly I am a spinning newbie. I have been online and seen all sorts of cycling shoes with different types of soles, etc (i.e., racing, mountain biking, etc). I am trying to decide what I need for indoor spinning. I dont expect to use them outdoors -- simply for spinning classes at the gym to expand my workouts. Price is not really the issue -- just trying to figure out what type I should be looking at. Thanks.

Zeek
12-17-2007, 09:58 AM
First double check what kind of clips the spinning bikes that you are riding have. Most have the SPD clips (just remember the word "SPUD"). As for the type of shoe, there are plenty to choose from (Sidi, Shimano, Nike, to name a few) but since you're only using them for spinning I would go with something less expensive. Check out your local bike shop and ask them what they have that will suit your needs. They will install the clips for you as well.

BikeDutchess
12-17-2007, 04:24 PM
I just bought the cheapest ones I could find on sale that fit reasonably well and were SPD-compatible. Weight doesn't really matter to me for these classes (I'm not dragging a bike up the hill really) but I did want them to have a nice stiff sole and snug heel. I ended up with some mountain biking shoes for $45 (the brand escapes me right now). The store had some shoes that supposedly were designed for spinning classes but they were not worth the extra $15 to me.

Kiekie
04-02-2008, 05:26 AM
So I just got some spinning shoes as an anniversary gift (amazing he actually listens to me when I talk to him) and I was so excited about using them for my first time. I have been spinning 2-3 times a week for about 5 weeks now, so farely new to spinning.