PDA

View Full Version : gauging progress

Lynne
12-26-2004, 07:17 PM
First off, great forum! Read everything, but didn't see this addressed.

I'm not sure what my expectations should be. I am switching over from 13 years of hiking and climbing. I'm just starting out, did 22 miles on a trail the first day (I'm in Oregon) then 30 miles on a paved trail then 40 miles the 3rd time out. Of course, had no idea what to expect w/the shoes and pedals and fell within 30 seconds of getting on the bike the first time, royally messing p my knee (still mucked up, going back to MD shortly). I'm not particularly fast. Any idea what expectations I should have? I'm biking with a guy who's biked most of his "upright" life,. LOL. And of course, guys are kind of speed demons. And yes, like everyone else, dowhill freaks me out. (I'm riding a Red Line cyclocross, btw)

I have no idea how to gauge where I'm at in comparision to other women, and I use that to motivate myself. How fast do women usually bike on straight-aways w/no elevation? How far do women usually bike? We are better at distance, right? We did the 40 miles in about 3hrs 15 mins-3 1/2 hrs. Thanks!!

Dogmama
12-27-2004, 03:30 AM
Here is how to gauge your progress. You need to answer these questions from 1 to 5 - 1=not at all and 5=absolutely. Here goes:

1. Are you having fun?
2. Do you look forward to your next ride?
3. Do you have an incurable itch to spend big money on cycling?
4. Do you bore your friends with your cycling tales?

Here is how to gauge if it's becoming an addiction

1. Do you hide your new cycling purchases?
2. Do you ride when nobody is around?
3. Do you sneak rides in the middle of the night?
4. Do you obsess about your next ride most of the time?
5. Do you miss work because of your riding?

:p :p :p

Dogmama
12-27-2004, 03:39 AM