PDA

View Full Version : Another saddle question!

zube
09-24-2007, 10:27 AM
Hi everyone!

I'm new here and this is my first post. I've done a search for saddles and many of the posts are 2006. I'm hoping there has been some more experience and thus more feedback with 2007 saddles.

I'm finally having to face the fact that I need a new mtn bike saddle. I currently have a Terry Liberator (one of the first cut-outs!) from A LONG TIME AGO. It is unbelievably worn out and every long ride leaves me sore. Basically I've been delaying action for many years now. Oh, when I bought that saddle eons ago they weren't even measuring sitbones. You just got it because, hey, it was made for a woman! I do have a tandem and another mtn bike (on a trainer) but those saddles are theirs, LOL!

I have tried to follow the Specialized Jett recs on the threads I've visited. But the actual site does not have it listed as a product any longer.

I do a lot of climbing and I rarely get out of my seat. (I'm in Western NC) And of course when you climb there's always downhill! I use a mix of fire roads and single track. My single track options are washed out, rocky, rooty, steep....well you know, not exactly comfortable going uphill nor downhill.

Could someone please take another deep breath over a thread that's been beat-to-death and give me some info about the newest (hopefully improved) products out there. Apparently gels aren't highly thought of. And there may be other developments that have modified what once was highly praised.

Thanks in Advance!:)

Trekhawk
09-24-2007, 12:18 PM
SadieKate put me on to this saddle for my mountain bike and I really like it.
http://www.wtb.com/products/saddles/performance/laserv/

I had a Terry seat on it before this one and hated it.

Good luck with your seat hunting.:)

zube
09-24-2007, 03:22 PM
Thanks for posting, Trekhawk!

Interesting...my husband has used WTB saddles on his mountain bikes for years. Another maker for his road bikes.