PDA

View Full Version : women's apparel and bikes

ElizabethOutlaw
07-25-2002, 08:43 AM
Hi Everyone,
My name's Elizabeth and I'm a intern/writer for the Bicycle Paper with Seattle Publishing.
I'm working on a piece regarding if companies truly do the research to make women specific apparel or bikes.
Do any of you have some companies you'd suggest I contact? Any companies that you think DO or DON'T do the real reasearch for women specific apparel?

waterlilli
07-26-2002, 08:11 AM
Elizabeth what a wonderful idea! I give you two thumbs up and can not wait to read the article. When I went looking for a bike I was frustrated at 5 feet (and not just 5 feet but very short legs and normal torso) I had trouble. Every shop said look at Trek. In my opinion they are a joke, a dumbed down bike with the WSD name. I ended up with Kona because they make a wide range of sizes and are a small and local company. I would of bought from Terry if they had more mountain bike designs, but I love and support them by buying clothes. That is just my 2 cents worth. By the way I am in Conway, WA about an hour from you. Best of luck.

ayermail2
07-27-2002, 02:39 PM
Elizabeth - check with Terry Bicycles!

Susan Knight
07-29-2002, 08:07 AM
I'm only 5 feet -- and Kona had what I needed without getting a kids bike! (Fire Mountain)

han-grrl
07-29-2002, 11:08 AM
what a great idea!
ok, i have a trek Fuel 90 WSD. I wanted a full suspension and had very few choices. The Kona small standover height was too much for my 5 foot 1 body. I think the Specialized might have been an option but wasn't going to be available in North America. and the Santa Cruz was a bit too $$$$$.

I LOVE my TREK. Everyone keeps telling me how i look so comfortable on it, and it was made just for me :D

It's a great cross country FS which is exactly what i wanted. It climbs well handles the bumps and allows me to perform on the downhills.

Happy riding

Han

talouse
07-29-2002, 06:30 PM
Elizabeth,