PDA

View Full Version : These cleats aren't made for walkin'

smurfalicious
10-05-2004, 04:40 PM
Wow! What a day! I started the drive to the trailhead today with a premonition something just wasn't right. Not, a "gonna die today" feeling, but a definate "something is gonna happen. " Nonetheless I jumped on Pony and spun around the parking lot once to make sure things felt right. Then I get on the trail and take a wrong turn from the word go.

Back on the right trail, things were awful sandy, and climbed more than I like to warm up on, but it felt good to stretch my legs after a bad week at work. I had a headache and almost took a short loop, but figured I'd ride the trail I was on for a bit. Boy oh boy, there was some tough stuff. One uphill rock garden I gave up a few yards before I got there. It was beastly, but I stood there and looked at it trying to find the line. Took a second longer than I'd have if I actually rode through it, but I'm still learning to see those things.

Before I knew it I was trucking uphill, off camber my biggest fear, on a trail that was surrounded by tree stumps and had a fair number of roots. It gave me some hassle, and I tipped over once, but it was fun. Even more fun is that my efforts were rewarded with a sweet downhill, which was good because I was staring down my first bonk. AAAAAAAAHHHHHH!!! I was officially useless despite how hard I tried. And oh did I try. Twice charging at a log hop I know was too big for my skills, but fun to try, and funnier laying in the dirt laughing at myself.

Then, through my off the bike and on the bike trucking along, I came to a sign that stated that the trail head, was 3.25 miles back in the other direction, back towards the sign that said the trailhead was 3.25 miles to this sign. Clearly I must have missed a turn, though I saw no signage. My only other choice was two miles to a different trailhead, which sound like a plan. I could get there, and then take the road back.