PDA

View Full Version : Saddle Soreness

Rhonda
10-04-2004, 01:16 PM
I am fairly new to riding a road bike. I am currently riding a 2003 Fuji Sagres and am using the saddle that came with it. I have only had the bike 3 weeks and have done two 20+ mile rides on it, both times I have been extremely sore for a couple days afterwards, not my bum but sensitive soft tissue area if you get my drift. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am looking at replacing the saddle with one specifically made for a woman (any suggestions there would be greatly appreciated also). Just wondering if anyone else has had this problem and what helped. THANKS in advance.

snapdragen
10-04-2004, 06:01 PM
Saddles can be a very personal choice. It sounds like you need something different - you are wearing cycling shorts with a pad - right?

I have a Terry Butterfly that I've used for close to 4 years, and like. The Rivendell girls (jobob and veronica) swear by their Brooks. Check with your LBS, see if they'll let you test ride a few different saddles.

Dogmama
10-04-2004, 06:51 PM
I have a Serfas saddle that I love. But, we're all different. Be sure your LBS doesn't try to sell you something really wide. "Women-specific" saddles tend to be wider & if you have a narrow pelvis, this would be worse.

You will "toughen up" over time. In the meantime, try Desitin (sp?)- the baby rash ointment. It has a slight numbing agent and will fight any bacteria that you might have going. If your skin is a little raw you need to keep yourself very clean down there.

After you shower, take your blow dryer - on the cold setting - & blow yourself dry. Then rub on your Desitin ointment. I would wear a small pad so that you don't get the ointment all over your undies. If you can wear pants that are loose, or a nice flowing skirt, it will help the air circulate & make you feel better.

And look at some saddles with cut outs. You'll have lots more miles of happy riding.

Keep us posted!

Rhonda
10-05-2004, 05:50 AM