PDA

View Full Version : Does commuting affect your training?

chutch
07-27-2007, 12:15 PM
Hi, this is my first post but I have been lurking for a while. I've been riding bikes for almost 10 years now- I've raced and ridden in centuries. I want to start commuting to work by bike and am working out all the little details. But one thing keeps nagging at me.

Are you still able to put in a good road ride after commuting home? My commute won't be that long so time is not the issue until the time changes. I don't want training to be negatively affected, especially as I get started because I am probably going to do a century in about 7 weeks. My road bike will not be my commute bike.

Any tips, ideas, reassurances? Or am I over analyzing and concerned for no reason?

Thanks ladies!

onimity
07-27-2007, 01:01 PM
Hi and welcome!

I am training for a century too (Aug 25) and commute by bike. I find that it is a great way to get a lot of mileage in and it takes away all of the stress and hassle of driving to work. As soon as I leave the office I am on a bike ride, and granted I'm on a heavier bike, carrying stuff, but that only makes you stronger. I commute 10 miles each way, some days I'll keep it quick and other days I take a longer route. It's also really easy for me to just throw down my stuff and get on my road bike for a ride when I get home; I'm already dressed and warmed up. Longer morning rides are great too if you have showers at work because the mornings are cooler and I really like that this time of year!

The only problem that I really have with it is finding the time to take rest days. I like to get in longer rides on Sat & Sun, so I generally try to work from home one day a week or take the bus all but a couple of miles a day. The best part of commuting by bike to me is that I have so much energy during the day.

Good luck, bike commuting is fun!

Anne

KnottedYet
07-27-2007, 09:00 PM
commuting is good.