PDA

View Full Version : Not a Ride, but a Run - U.S. Half Marathon in SF

michelem
07-12-2007, 01:01 PM
Hi all,

This will be my first ever fundraising event - the U.S. Half Marathon in San Francisco, November 4, 2007. I will be raising funds to support pancreatic cancer research. Please check out my brand-new fundraising website and let me know what you think.

http://www.active.com/donate/pancreaticasanfran/mlmagnaghi

Any tips and hints are greatly appreciated - as I said, this is my first time doing this and I am clueless! :eek:

Thanks very much.

Michele

P.S. If you ever hear of a ride that supports pancreatic cancer or lung cancer research please let me know! Now that I have the cycling bug, running just isn't as fun anymore. ;)

michelem
08-09-2007, 01:00 PM
I'm feeling rather discouraged. Weeks after my initial e-mail campaign of close to 150 e-mails I have received one $50 donation toward my approx. $2400 goal (have to raise that minimum to get overnight race accomodations). HR posted a flier at our central offices (over 100 employees) as well. Nothing from that. Any suggestions??? :confused:

maryellen
08-09-2007, 04:51 PM
having raised $ for my empire state aids ride in 2005 i learned that fundraising can be weird. some folks will donate if asked directly but won't even look at a fundraising email. hang in there and be persistent, you'll get there. talk up your training runs. or maybe threaten to go to work without showering until you raise your minimum.

Zen
08-09-2007, 05:24 PM
Keep e-mailing until you get responses.
also look for big money donors, like a gym or a bank. i think banks have a requirement to make charitable donations.
Write up your own letter and throw some pathos in there. Make it personal as to why you're doing that fund raiser.
Think of the stuff the humane society sends out, it always tugs at the heartstrings.
Fund raising is tough.

michelem
08-09-2007, 06:23 PM