PDA

View Full Version : Overtaining question

LiquidFeet
06-24-2007, 03:59 PM
I'm wondering if I'm overtraining. Here's what I'm doing, and why I'm wondering if I'm doing something I shouldn't do.

I am riding my mountain bike every day, probably 6 out of every 7 days. I'm fairly new to this. I ride for 2 to 2 1/2 hours every time I ride, maybe 30 minutes of that on the road to get to the woods and back. The rest of the time I spend in the woods, mostly on single tracks. I love the narrow trails with twisty-turns and ups and downs and logs across the trail and roots and rocks and stream crossings and scary technical stuff that requires granny gear. I have to get off and walk up and down the hills sometimes, but mostly I can I just haul myself up the hills by quad strength. This is strenuous for me, whether I'm walking the bike or riding it. I'm getting better at negotiating the obstacles. Clearly my balance on the bike is improving. But I'd like to think that I'm getting stronger, but here's the catch.

My quads burn, burn, burn. They burn when I leave the house, they burn after the ride, they burn when I walk up the stairs in my house. They burn when I drive my car, when I sit for lunch, and when I go to bed. The only time they don't burn is after I get warmed up on my ride and I'm torquing along the trails. I take a lot of Ibuprophen.

I want to get stronger, not just better at balance on this bike. But am I overdoing it? How do I know if I need to take more days off?

And if I need to take days off, what do I do instead of riding the darn bike? I LOVE LOVE LOVE to ride this bike. It's so sad to think that I'm going to need to take more days off, but I fear that's the cold hard truth. I'm old (57) by the way, so my body takes longer (so they say) to recover from a workout.

Any thoughts out there on overtraining?

kelownagirl
06-24-2007, 05:52 PM
Sounds like a lot to me. :)

I was doing the same thing. I had to cut back. Getting old sucks.

mimitabby