PDA

View Full Version : More Saddle Woes

Trekie
06-18-2007, 06:52 AM
Hello all,
First time posting here. I've learned a lot just reading however I need some advice. I do do a search of the forums but can't find this specific issue.

Let me introduce myself. I've been riding pretty consistently for the past 2 years. My husband and I do shop rides on the weekend, have a great group of people we ride with on week day evenings (work gets in the way of so much fun....) and we do various charity metric centuries. We've done a couple of bike tours and have more scheduled.

My issue?
Last year on a bike trip, I experience my first chafing episode. Not on the underside/bottom of my "girlie bits" where they meet the saddle, but in the front, within the crease at the top. All things being consistent (shorts, mileage, Butt-R), I chalked it up to the bike and saddle I was using on the tour.

Soon after the tour, I upgraded my saddle to the Selle Italia LDY Flite (I think? no cutout). I just can't seem to alleviate the chafing. Doesn't matter if it's a short 30 miler. Thing is, there is no other soreness, anywhere. Just the chafing in the front.

Think the saddle nose it too wide? We've adjusted the angle, that doesn't help. I use Butt-R liberally and have pretty good shorts.

Any advice would be appreciated.

KnottedYet
06-18-2007, 08:10 PM
This may sound weird, but have you tried trimming your pubic hair? If you like the saddle overall, it might be possible to control the chafing without losing the saddle you like. Sometimes hair can be a problem. (search "brazillian" or "Lawn" for a couple threads on this issue.)

You can also try using Astroglide, which others on this board find helps in the more personal areas of the anatomy while butt'r handles the rest. (search "astroglide")

Trekie
06-19-2007, 09:36 AM
Never occurred to me!
Will give it a try. A pair of trimmers is certainly cheaper than a Fizik Vitesse HP which was my next option.
Sure learned a lot today.
Thank you!