PDA

View Full Version : Bike type choices

coyote
06-14-2007, 01:07 PM
Hi,
I'm in the market for a new bike. My current bike is too small. I've been looking at the Jamis Commuter 3.0. It is more in the comfort bike range. Most of my biking is commuting to and from work, 6 miles round trip, and then sometimes errands on the weekends. I'm getting bitten by the bike bug though. Now I'm thinking I may really want a road bike...something I can do 20-25 mi/h on. On the other hand...I've been commuting to work for 3 years on a bike and I have only been on one 20 mile ride. But on the other hand....

See my delemia. Unfortunantly I do not have the money for 2 bikes.

What do you all think?

- Mary

Zen
06-14-2007, 01:26 PM
Who says you can't commute on a road bike?

coyote
06-14-2007, 01:43 PM
The fenders and luggage rack kind of take away from the speeding around town effect. Mostly I'm pretty self conscious and I'm not sure I want to ride around town with my butt in the air. The thing I like about the Jamis is that it has a chain guard so I can just jump on it and go and it is really upright.

Torrilin
06-14-2007, 02:07 PM
I see people riding around Madison on all kinds of bikes. Mountain bikes (no suspension, front suspension and full suspension), road bikes, vintage bikes, cruisers, folding bikes... If the weather is good, you'll see lots of nekkid bikes with no fenders or just a rear rack. The moment the weather gets bad, it seems like every bike you see has fenders (and half the saddles are wrapped in a plastic bag).

Go with a bike that you're happy with, and don't worry so much about style. I *know* I look incredibly dorky on my mountain bike, but it gets me grocery shopping and to the library. And I wouldn't look any less (or more) dorky on a cruiser or road bike. I also get passed by plenty of road bikes fitted out with a rack and panniers :). Most of 'em don't have their butt in the air either... it's pretty common to use a more level setup.