PDA

View Full Version : New to the board and to cycling

slinkedog
08-28-2004, 03:38 PM
Hi there! I've been checking out this board for about a week now and have decided to take the plunge and join in the conversation!

I'm new to biking (I'm strictly a roadie so far), but my husband has been cycling for years. He rode for his college team and did road and velodrome racing. He went to the Olympic trials in 1996 and rode the points race, but didn't make the team. So, he's my coach. We got me a nice little ride (Specialized Roubaix Elite) and I'm still getting used to clipless pedals, but I'm getting there. I've fallen a few times and am still pretty nervous riding in traffic, which is unavoidable as we live in a heavily populated area.

I'm looking forward to asking lots of questions and hopefully, someday, being able to answer a few with some modicum of intelligence!! :)

Shannon

caligurl
08-30-2004, 08:01 AM
welcome to cycling and welcome to the board!

slinkedog
08-31-2004, 11:54 AM
Thanks! This is a great board and a wonderful resource!! :)

Biking Chick
08-31-2004, 05:28 PM
Originally posted by slinkedog
Hi there! I've been checking out this board for about a week now and have decided to take the plunge and join in the conversation!
Shannon

Welcome to the board Shannon!

Cindy

Twice Daily
09-01-2004, 09:32 AM
Originally posted by slinkedog
I'm still getting used to clipless pedals, but I'm getting there. I've fallen a few times...

Don't feel bad, I ride to and from work almost everyday and I fell today in front of a car at a stoplight...I don't think I'll ever be used to clipless pedals!! I swear I have a perma-bruise on each knees!