PDA

View Full Version : First major crash of the season

mudgirl
06-10-2007, 09:53 AM
I'm fairly new to mtn biking, with only about 3 months total of riding under my belt since I got my bike last summer. I've been going to the local "beginner" trails, but I was bored with them and asked a guy I've ridden with a few times if he'd take me to the local hot spot, Shindagin Hollow, near Ithaca. He said the trails were a "little" more technical than what I'd been doing, but nothing I couldn't handle.

Despite the fact that I got off to a "wonderful" start and fell in the creek less than 20 feet from the trail head in front of five guys (not enough momentum to get up the other side :o ), I was having a blast! There were tons of roots, but I was handling them; tons of rocks, but I was doing okay. Until we were going down a fairly gentle descent and a tree trunk reached out and stuck its roots in the spokes of my front wheel!!! :eek: I have no idea how fast I was going, but it wasn't obscenely fast, thank God!! The back end of my bike whipped around so the bike was facing in the total opposite direction I had come, and I went flying!