PDA

View Full Version : menopause & UTIs

surgtech1956
05-30-2007, 04:31 PM
I don't if there's a thread on this. I was reading that there is a relation between menopause and UTIs. I guess during menopause the tissues get thin and you're more prone to UTIs. Don't know if this is true or not, but I'm just getting over a nasty UTI - I just started riding(a newbie) an hour a day the last 1 1/2 weeks and had to readjust my seat - I was getting a little sore). Could be just coincidence but I haven't had a UTI in about 25 yrs. My doctor told me just to empty my bladder before and after riding. Anyone else have frequent UTIs????

Zen
05-30-2007, 07:06 PM
No problem for me but have a look at this (http://womenshealth.about.com/cs/menopaus1/a/menopause3.htm). Maybe you just need to lube up with some astroglide before you ride.

Hey- there's a whole new market for them and a slogan!
"Astroglide before you ride!"
Hmmm...on second thought that could be taken another way...better include a photo of a bicycle:D

mimitabby
05-30-2007, 07:22 PM
I guess during menopause the tissues get thin

This is true, but at least in my case I haven't gotten any UTI's.

surgtech1956
05-31-2007, 09:35 AM
I don't know about this menopause thing. I think its been about 4 1/2 years since my last period. I'm not nearly as 'hot' as I use to be. So you give up the hot flashes for UTIs????? I might try the lube. Thanks for the article - I like www.about.com

Melalvai
05-31-2007, 12:33 PM
I'm not menopause yet but I am prone to UTIs, and for a week I was struggling with a couple different saddles, getting the level right, and sure enough I got a UTI. I thought "This was the least fun I ever had getting a UTI".

Now I have a brooks and it is adjusted properly, I know as long as I have my brooks that little trouble will not be caused by bike riding!

Tokie
06-02-2007, 08:37 PM