PDA

View Full Version : First organized ride (& other ?'s)!!!

mandigreene
08-20-2004, 06:02 PM
My husband and I are joining a group of riders in training for the tour de Tucson...we upgraded to the 66 mile ride (the 35 wasn't enough) What does everyone suggest to snack on?...and although I've ridden bikes throughout my life I'm a tad shaky on my new road bike and have to use a camelback...it's about a liter...any suggestions? I guess stability comes with time? Oh yeah...and building core muscles, is pilates good? happy biking all, peace!

mandi

snapdragen
08-20-2004, 07:31 PM
Pilates is excellent for building your core. I've been doing it for 4 years now, although I have a "spare tire", my core is very strong.

Besides water, you will want a sports drink. I carry gatorade, in my bottle diluted 1/2 strength. Other good bike foods are Fig Newtons, Paydays (thanks jobob!), Trail mix (my favorite).

jobob
08-20-2004, 08:05 PM
I got the idea about Paydays from someone else here - I think it was emily_in_NC - thankyee kindly.

I really like bagels too - plain Lender's bagels, the kind you get in the supermarket (not to be confused with the REAL bagels one gets at Jewish delis & bakeries in the northeast - whole different thing alltogether) ... uh, where was I? Oh yeah, I like to carry a Lender's bagel in a ziplock in my handlebar bag, it's very easy to reach in and unzip the bag and tear off a bit of bagel to munch as I'm riding.

Trek420
08-21-2004, 12:00 PM
mandigreene asked " What does everyone suggest to snack on?...and although I've ridden bikes throughout my life I'm a tad shaky on my new road bike and have to use a camelback...it's about a liter...any suggestions? I guess stability comes with time? Oh yeah...and building core muscles, is pilates good? happy biking all, peace!"

mandigreene check here for good tips on managing your first century, there's also a handy dandy checklist of what to bring (and not to)

http://velogirls.com/century.html

TREK

KkAllez