PDA

View Full Version : New bike?

jplum4
08-18-2004, 07:26 PM
Hello... I have been riding a hybrid bike for the past 5 years - paid about $300. for it. Today I fell in love with a Serotta Road bike - about $2499. My husband about had a coronary!

My question - is there THAT much difference in a really expensive bike? Currently I can go about 22 miles but would love to try longer rides. Is it better to get a more moderately priced one and eventually step up or just bite the bullet and get your dream bike and hope it was the right decision...

I'm rambling, sorry, but would love to have some opinions. Thanks

bounceswoosh
08-18-2004, 08:00 PM
I'll quote what people have told me: "I've never heard of someone saying they wish they'd bought *less* bike than they did."

People often regret spending too little; you never hear people say they spent too much. Of course, you tend to talk to cyclists ... so maybe that's a tautology ...

That being said, I'm a mountain biker, so I can't give you any specific pointers as to what money will buy you in road bikes. (Probably lighter weight, better durability, and smoother shifting, same as in mountain bikes.)

That being said, are you in love with it because it's pretty or because you've actually test-ridden it and know that it will fit you? You're better off with a hybrid that fits you than with a road bike that gives you pain.

And just to mess with your head -- $2500 is enough money that the bike ought to be awfully nice -- you should be comfortable and get some awfully nice componentry -- but it's not even close to the top end of what you can spend.

smurfalicious
08-18-2004, 08:46 PM
Yeah, no kidding! $2500 would put me into my lustworthy Gary Fisher Sugar Race with full XT components, Fox Float rear and Sid Team front shock with disc brakes! I've heard that bikes only downfall is it doesn't like being behind other bikes. :D