PDA

View Full Version : My first race as an expert

han-grrl
05-21-2007, 06:32 AM
Well i did it. I finished my first race in the Master Expert category. It was a Verrrry muddy course, 6.4 km long, experts did 3 laps.

Oh first off, Marie Helene Premont was there (Olympic silver medalist) man she is FAST!!!

My first lap i was a bit surprised with the agressive start of the women, being used to the sport category. Something pinged my chain, which nearly droppe, but i managed to do a quick backpedal to keep it on.

Then i started to feel a bit of panic on the first climb, also i lost my warm up during the wait to start...ok no biggie. BUT, i tried to make up some time during the first technical section and i wasn't thinking much on my way out of it, and there is a bit of a concrete path we needed to follow, so with muddy tires, i completed wiped out on the concrete ( i have the road rash to prove it! ;) ) Ok, back on the bike...

the rest of lap 1 and lap 2 went pretty well, i was handling the technical well (for me!), but then lap 3...i went through the "why the heck did i sign up for expert" phase of thinking, but then i realize, with this terrain ANYTHING can happen, and i'm fine, my bikes fine, SO KEEP MOVING! So i did. I was slow, they were even calling the race marshalls off the race course (thanks guys!)

So when i saw the last race marshall whistle my arrival to the timing tent, i thought "that's right you whistle, I'm STILL racing!" :)

Anyway i finished. 3 laps...it was really really hard. I learned a lot. But i am proud that i did it, coming back from ulcer surgery, and having missed two months of training. I still have a lot to work on, but i am looking forward to the process.

Did i mention the mud?

Happy Racing!

Hannah

PS i finished 4th:D

maillotpois
05-21-2007, 09:07 AM
Great job, Hannah! Sounds like an exciting race - congrats on the 4th place!

SheFly
05-21-2007, 09:37 AM