PDA

View Full Version : Starting to work on hills seriously - need beginner advice!

Bklynmom
05-10-2007, 09:07 AM
I have been training seriously (for the first time ever) for about 2 months and yesterday attempted my first serious hills, and had a very tough time.
(For NYC riders, they were the hills on 9W comming back from Piermont. It's about a one mile climb.)

I made it about half way up and just ran out of gas. I have been doing hill repeats in Prospect Park Brooklyn, but the hill is only about 1/4 of a mile. Interestingly I made it up 1/4 of a mile before getting off to push on 9W.

I know I need a longer local hill to practice on, but Brooklyn is pretty flat. I would love to find a way to work on hills before I go back to 9W again.

Any and all training suggestions would be appreciated!

I also wondering about gearing strategies for hills, I'm sure that would help me.

spokewench
05-10-2007, 09:28 AM
I have some questions for you. When you are doing hill intervals on your slower hill, are you trying to push as long as you can for periods of time. It is hard for me to give you advice without knowing how long your short hill is?

How long does it take you to climb your short hill? If it is say 10 minutes, do this or a variation. Go easy, i.e. in a smaller gear breathing as easily and you can and relax for 1 minute. Then, click up a gear or two, and go as hard as you think you can without blowing and getting off your bike for 1 minute; keep repeating this till you get to the top of the hill.

You can vary this type of workout, i.e. go for 2 minutes, easy for 2; go for 3 easy for 3; or once you start to recover faster, 2 minutes hard, 1 minute easy; etc. Also, as it seems to get easier, you can click up to a harder gear to change the work out. Just make sure you don't bog down too much; you want to spin a certain amount to be efficient. Try for 55-60 rpms as a newbie on hills, unless it is so steep you just can't do it!