PDA

View Full Version : MTB fit

veekcee
07-20-2004, 09:43 AM
Hi There!

Newbie here! I've been lurking here for a few days and need some advice.

We bought our first MTB Saturday (Trek 3700) and I'm a little concerned that the bike may be a little too big for me. Would like input before I take it back to the bike shop.

I'm 5'1", 29" inseam. The frame is 16" with very little clearance between me and the top tube when I am standing over the tube. The bike shop raised the seat to where I was on my tippy toes, but I lowered it a bit as I didn't feel comfortable with the seat so high. My knees seem to be in good alignment with where the seat is now while pedalling.

We went for an easy ride on Sunday with plenty of terrain variables to really get a feel for the bike. It was comfortable and I found I was able to handle the bike with no problems. I rode the brake a lot on the downhills which worked my forearms pretty good but I have bend in my elbows at all times. It was fun! I haven't been on a bike in 20 years!

We didn't go bike shopping totally blind and I knew bike fit would be important; I just didn't stick to my guns when the guy kept telling me that this bike was a good fit for me. I'm 46, don't have any joint problems and don't want to encourage any in the future!

We bought the bikes for recreational purposes and won't be doing anything real difficult or technical. My moto is: when in doubt, dismount! :D

I appreciate any and all advice and insight!

Thank you!

Vickie :)

bounceswoosh
07-20-2004, 11:06 AM
The bike shop raised the seat to where I was on my tippy toes, but I lowered it a bit as I didn't feel comfortable with the seat so high.

Do you mean tippy toes when you're sitting on the saddle?

Most people I know can't touch the ground when their mountain bike saddle is at the proper height.

I had a trek mountain bike last year, and I could *not* touch the ground with the saddle in the right position.