PDA

View Full Version : numbness

mae3929
07-12-2004, 07:06 AM
I just started riding a road bike and have a terrific women's saddle that's quite comfortable. However, my crotch is going numb a couple of minutes into my ride, a problem that does not resolve for several hours. Any advice?

Thanks!

fishie
07-12-2004, 07:57 AM
Is your saddle really soft and cushy? Sometimes a soft and cushy saddle allows your body to "sink in" a little too much, putting pressure on areas we don't want pressure. A seat that is more firm allows the "sit bones" to support our weight, and keeping our tender areas from too much pressure. I hope this helps. I ride with a Brooks leather saddle with springs, and it's very, very comfortable. People either swear by the stiffer saddles, or hate them, but I've found they mold to your body and it's like sitting on something that was made just for you (after a few hundred mile break in period that is totally worth it!) Happy riding!

jobob
07-12-2004, 10:35 AM
Awright, another Brooks rider! ( High Five! :D )

Mae, you might want to try to tilt the front of the saddle downward just a little bit and see if that helps. (I had to do that with my Brooks saddle, even)

But don't overdo it, a little change in angle can make a big difference. If you tilt the front downward too far you might end up putting too much weight on your hands/forearms/shoulders.

HTH, - Jo.

luv2ride
07-12-2004, 02:02 PM