PDA

View Full Version : need suggestions on commuting

stella
04-03-2007, 08:52 AM
I used to commute to my old job where I had an office to store my suits and dress clothes plus a shower to get all clean and pretty. The last 3 years I've been a full-time student i.e.: not wearing suits all that often plus I had access to lockers and showers at the school gym.

Now the updated facts and issue: I will be interning for a judge 1 day per week. The court house is close to home but I will not have shower access like I did in the past. Nor will I have an office to store my suit in.

so, has anyone commuted by bike in a suit? if so, I need tips--I'll be working in a courtroom or in the law library (either way: got to wear a suit). I was thinking of riding in at a very non-sweat/slow pace by bike. for the ride home: put the suit in messenger bag and go at my normal pace. anyone done this before?

any suggestions? thoughts?

mimitabby
04-03-2007, 10:31 AM
Stella, i don't wear a suit, but i do exactly what you are planning. I ride at an easy pace (and conveniently) downhill TO work
Going home i have to go back up the hill so i change my clothes. In the summer the difference is even more stark, it's cold in the morning and hot in the afternoon. (and the cold keeps me from getting REAL sweaty too)

and don't worry about it. People get used to athletic types... we sweat.
Sometimes our hair isn't perfect.. they really don't care.

stella
04-03-2007, 10:36 AM
mimitabby,

thanks for the encouragement! this Friday will be my first time commuting "suit style."

We'll see how the suit jacket holds up in a mess bag. :)

Offthegrid
04-03-2007, 12:10 PM
Depending how far it is, I probably wouldn't put the suit in a messenger bag just to avoid wrinkles. Also, you can always change your undershirt when you get there. Just another idea. Let us know how it goes!

Grog
04-03-2007, 12:37 PM