PDA

View Full Version : Spinning bike vs. bike time

teigyr
03-28-2007, 01:38 PM
I don't know if this makes sense or not but I've been doing a lot of spinning classes. Due to time constraints and weather, I haven't been putting as much miles on my road bike as I'd like.

How well does spinning class (on a spinning bike, of course, not my bike on a trainer) translate into being on the bike? I ride a LOT harder in spinning class but since the spinning bike isn't adjusted exactly like my bike (though I try), am I working different muscles and it isn't as beneficial as being on my own bike?

Right now I'm not factoring in spin class as far as bike training. What are the general feelings on this? I'm doing a century in May and my weekly mileage is about 60 +/- but I usually do 2-3 spin classes on top of that. (That and some running and weight training...)

maillotpois
03-28-2007, 04:21 PM
I think it translates pretty well. Before I started riding a bike at all, I spent a whole year just doing spin classes several times a week. Then when I started riding, as a total newbie, everything came really easily and my muscles were well conditioned for cycling.

It's also a good way to maintain fitness during the week when you can't find time to ride.

Thorn
03-28-2007, 04:32 PM
Are you looking for direct numbers? If so, I think that varies by person. I have read that it is about 150% by time. That is, if you are on the trainer (or spinbike) for an hour, that it is about equivalent to a 1 1/2 hour bike ride. Of course, depending upon how hard you ride that number may differ.

Due to really lousy weather up here in the snowbound north, I can state that the 150% adjustment is about right. During the week this winter, our longest time indoors would be about 1 1/2 hours. When we finally got outdoors this spring, a ride of a little over 2 hours was painless. No problems. When we pushed it to 3 hours, we had that "oh, we did a long ride" feeling.

Jenn
03-28-2007, 08:07 PM