PDA

View Full Version : newbie introducing myself!

caligurl
07-01-2004, 08:58 AM
hello!

i'm brand new to road cycling. my hubby has been riding for a long time and occasionlly would mention i should get a bike.... but fortunately never pushed (cuz we know how that goes).

well.. a couple of weeks ago we dug out my old kmart bike cuz "I" wanted to go out and burn some calories... and i enjoyed peddling around the neighborhood while he was off putting on miles!

soooooo last weekend we went out and got me a new bike. we didn't shop a lot (maybe a mistake).. but i did end up with the specialized elite dolce. (my close 2nd was the very pretty silver ocr1 but the guy at that store really ticked us off!)

i got a bunch of gear including shoes and clipless pedals. i've mentioned in another thread that i fell before i even put one mile on the bike! i didn't get any momemtum going as i floundered to get my 2nd foot in.. and yes.. i had practiced on the trainer in the garage before heading out to the street.

hubby won't let me ride alone now.. so he comes along to motivate, give technigue and push a little... i'm very excited and look forward to getting away from my 5 mile neighborhood loop to another neighborhood really soon!

i already have a ride on my calendar! i want to do the tour de palm springs on feb 5! woo hoo! goals!

i love this forum.. unlike some of the others i've come across where there are some snobby people.. everyone here seems wonderful and has no problem answering all our newbie questions!

caligurl

bounceswoosh
07-01-2004, 11:39 AM
My first fall was in the driveway, putting on the brakes and only remembering that I was clipped in after I'd come to a stop and started tipping =)

When you got all that gear, did you get a helmet?

caligurl
07-01-2004, 12:15 PM
Originally posted by bounceswoosh
When you got all that gear, did you get a helmet?

ABSOLUTELY! i didn't mention it cuz i figures it was a no-brainer that i got one! :cool: