PDA

View Full Version : Heart Rate Monitors

DDH
03-11-2007, 12:22 PM
Okay, I have done several different searches on Heart rate monitors trying to find something without having to ask because I know it probably has already been asked and I hate being the one to repeat. Anywho, from my weight loss post, several of you mentioned that I need to get a HRM, so I am trying to do some research on a good one so I don't buy something that doesn't do what I need and I can't spend a whole lot of money on it. Probably around $100 or maybe a litte more. For those of you who use them, can you tell me what a good one is and what I need to look for.
I would guess I need something that shows calories burned and max HR and stuff like that. I am not even sure how to figure out what my Max HR is, or how to go about it. I want to get fit not just lose weight, but I am new to all the fitness stuff. It all seems so confusing sometimes.
Can anyone help a mixed up wanna be fit person. LOL:D

han-grrl
03-12-2007, 07:04 AM
Here is a link to a calculator for HR zones
http://www.fitzones.com/members/Fitness/heartrate_zones.asp

its very important to also use rate of preceived exertion, IE how it feels, because HR's can vary from day to day...

http://www.smccd.net/accounts/mcgill/RPE.html

or talk test, so the harder it gets, the harder it is to talk...

once you get used to this, you will start to notice breathing changes. Physiologically, your breathing rates will adjust BEFORE you sense burning in the legs. So its good to get a handle on what the breathing is for various intensities.

beetle
03-12-2007, 09:52 PM
I like numbers but to be honest I think HRMs that down load info to your PC and have 4 automatically calculated workout zones a waste of time and money.

I bought my (relatively simple) Cardiosport Go 30 (or 35) (http://www.cardiosport.com/go30.html) HRM 3 years ago and have not yet seen the need to upgrade it.

It has:
- max, avg and min HR