PDA

View Full Version : Knee Pain

li10up
02-19-2007, 09:46 AM
I've searched the boards but haven't found what I'm looking for. I'm trying to find out which parts of my knee I've injured. A little background. I started riding in 2005. Like a lot of newbies I was mashing instead of spinning and in the first few weeks I felt a pain in the back of my left knee to the left of mid-line. My knee hasn't recovered since. Anyone have any ideas as to what I may have injured? When I sit with my legs propped up on an ottoman my left knee just hurts so bad that I have to put a pillow under it to keep it slightly bent.

Second issue: I now also have pain at the front of my left kneecap - almost at the very top of the kneecap. It doesn't feel like it's inside...feels more like on the surface. I can't figure out what this is either. I feel it in my right knee a bit too but not nearly like the left. I don't think it is chondromalacia because it feels like it's close to the surface. What might this be? I've read all the articles about adjusting seat and cleat position, float, etc. Which I'm doing in small increments. But I'm wondering what I've injured. It doesn't seem severe enough to go to my GP about. Any ideas?

salsabike
02-19-2007, 10:18 AM
Take a look at this:

http://www.cptips.com/knee.htm

li10up
02-19-2007, 12:41 PM
I've looked at that...but I'm trying to find out what body parts I've injured. Thanks for responding though.

I'm pretty knowledgeable when it comes to anatomy but I can't figure out the sources of these aches/pains. I'm pretty sure the cause is from pushing too big a gear when starting out and bike geometry...

han-grrl
02-19-2007, 12:59 PM
the best thing to do is go to a physiotherapist to diagnose your knee.

li10up
02-19-2007, 01:46 PM
the best thing to do is go to a physiotherapist to diagnose your knee.It's not bad enough for me to want to pay for a dr. visit. Just trying to figure out what I injured.

DrBadger
02-19-2007, 02:35 PM