PDA

View Full Version : Jett vs. Ariel SL Specialized saddles

Nattie
02-10-2007, 07:01 PM
Hi - I read the thread on Specialized's Jett saddle. Very informative! A few days before reading I ordered a Jett saddle... however now I'm a bit confused and not sure of whether I chose the right saddle? Basically I just want a light and comfortable saddle for touring (eg. 100 km a day)... previously my sit-bone region and more more female region hurt after eg. 50 km. ...
but is the Jett the one? I reckon I'd sacrifice weight for comfort ...

The blurb on the Jett mentions racing but not padding - the blurb on the Ariel SL mentions "enough cushion for all day riding comfort". Has anyone ridden an Ariel SL? What did you think? Then there's the comfy looking gel Avatar that is not specifically designed for women, but I've had no experience with gel seats...

Does anyone have any advice? I know it also comes down to personal design but ... is the Jett more designed for racing as opposed to comfort over long-distances? Help! :)

mimitabby
02-11-2007, 05:54 AM
forget the blubs that advertisers put with their saddles.
As you will discover from reading our opinions on the saddle threads,
no saddle is going to make everyone happy.
It's a very highly individual thing. Lots of people swear by the Terry butterfly
for example, it MADE ME swear. I couldn't wait to get it off my bike.

The best thing to do is to try the one you're getting and if it's awful
send it back. If you like it, don't waste your time trying the other one.

Pedal Wench
02-11-2007, 09:46 AM