PDA

View Full Version : A bunch of gear questions-first HIM

smithcyn42
02-09-2007, 03:41 PM
This is my first time posting ANYWHERE!!

I am signed up for my first HIM, the one at Disney in May. I started tri-ing last year, and completed an olympic distance in September (also at Disney). I've been running marathons and half-marathons for 7 years, since the birth of my son. I'm part of the slow and steady group of athletes!

Anyway, I bought a Cervelo Dual, and I've been pretty comfortable in the aero position EXCEPT for the saddle! MAJOR pain in the "girl part" area! I've tried a few random saddles, but I feel overwhelmed with the choices out there! I've been training indoors on my fluid trainer, and it's gotten so bad that I wince just thinking about getting on the bike!

I tried a terry butterfly, with the cut-out, but when I was in the aero position the pressure from the front of the saddle made me go numb. I know my body can do the HIM, but I'm not sure that my crotch can!

On a related front, what brand of bottoms do you like best? Again, I am overwhelmed by the choices! I don't like LG, but other than that, I'm not sure. Any suggestions? Anyone try Oomph!?

Lastly, and thanks for your patience with the legnth of this post, any suggestion for tops for a 32DD?

Everyone here seems so friendly and knowledgable! I don't know anyone else who does triathlons (not much free time!) and I love reading the posts and feeling like I am part of a community! That's my favorite thing about endurance sports.

Thanks for any and all advice in advance!

Wahine
02-09-2007, 06:58 PM
Anyway, I bought a Cervelo Dual, and I've been pretty comfortable in the aero position EXCEPT for the saddle! MAJOR pain in the "girl part" area! I've tried a few random saddles, but I feel overwhelmed with the choices out there! I've been training indoors on my fluid trainer, and it's gotten so bad that I wince just thinking about getting on the bike!