PDA

View Full Version : My clipless update.

Tri'ing Hard
06-05-2004, 11:05 AM
Well, it seems that there is light at the end of the tunnel. I have been practicing and feel pretty confident with the clipless pedals.

Now I just have to get over my fear of the road. One of the gals in our training group is putting together some rides at 5:30 on friday mornings.

Thanks for the advice.

Hillhugger
06-05-2004, 03:51 PM
I had a hard time at the beginning as well, but now I'm getting better at it. It took me a while too to get out into the traffic. I was always concerned that I wouldn't get me feet out off the clips fast enough...

But now I love it!!!

See you!

paintgirl
06-06-2004, 05:41 AM
I too have seemingly mastered these clipless pedals. I have been cycling actively for a few years, and kept toying with trying them. I had only one embarrasing painful crash, unwitnessed thankfully.I hadn't been on my bike for 8 days, I had a nasty flu? respiratory thing, and still have one ear blocked, that, combined with what seemed like never ending rain here in N Ontario, kept me indoors. The last 3 days here have been beautiful, 22 degrees C, sun !! so I got back on the bike Friday, and huffed and puffed up hills that normally only cause a bit of effort, you sure lose your aerobic fitness, endurance whatever with inactivity and illness. anyway, I seemed to have forgotten all about worrying re clipping in/out, and realised 3/4 of the way home that I was doing just fine. So today I'll hope to get a longer ride in, and because I've mentioned "mastering" the pedals, will probably do a dumb crash, but it is so great to feel almost well and be back in the saddle, might even be able to play ball hockey tonight. Hello spring, blackflies, I love the sun Lori

bounceswoosh
06-06-2004, 07:53 AM
Tri'ing hard:

Which cleat are you using? If you're using a Shimano system, there are 55s and 51s -- the 55s are much easier to yank out when you're in a hurry.

Tri'ing Hard
06-06-2004, 04:38 PM