PDA

View Full Version : Wearing Gloves

ORBikeChick
05-31-2004, 05:14 PM
Hi All....Newbie here with a question about biking gloves. I'm curious how many of you wear them? At the time I don't wear any, but have noticed after 15-20 miles or so, that I'm adjusting my hands a lot because it gets uncomfortable. I'd imagine that they will help but I'm not sure, so I thought I'd ask some experts. Any particular types I should look for?

Thanks for the help!

Sarah :cool:

Irulan
05-31-2004, 05:26 PM
I used to wear half finger gel gloves but after being gifted with some non-padded, full gloves that's all I wear all the time. I like the full fingers because now I dont' come home with bashed up fingers any more. I like the way my bike "feels" better without the gel, too. they are Fox synthetic leather too so I just throw them in the wash and line dry them.

edit: I ride mainly singletrack

penny

ORBikeChick
05-31-2004, 05:50 PM
See..I'm glad I asked! Thanks Irulan for the info. I would have figured the half fingered gloves to be better...don't know why. I like the idea of the synthetic leather as well...they can go right in the wash with everything else! lol! I appriciate the advice and am open to hear what others use as well!

:)

Veronica
05-31-2004, 06:52 PM
I like Specialized half finger gloves. They're lightly padded and I do throw them in the washer and dryer.

I suppose the kind of gloves you want will largely depend on what type of riding you do. I primarily ride my road bike. My off road excursions tend to be on fire roads.

Veronica

bounceswoosh
05-31-2004, 08:35 PM
The first time I ever tried to ride my brand new bike with clipless pedals, I didn't bother to wear my gloves. The first time I stopped, I forgot about unclipping till I started tipping over and realized my foot was attached to the bike. In the course of the fall, I planted my hands in a bed of teensy gravel pieces. My palms were scabbed for weeks, and I still have the scar.