PDA

View Full Version : Butter Question

Meaux
01-04-2007, 08:01 PM
I have a rather...ahem...personal question. I was told that it is very important to use some sort of chamois cream when riding long distances, however, I have a very sensitive "area" (meaning I am very prone to UTI's and yeast infections"). Can using chamois butter irritate this area? DH and I bought a few of the one time use things of Chamois Butt'r, but before I slather it on and hop on the bike, I want to make sure the cream will make the ride more pleasant, not make me want to turn around and cry. Does anyone have any experience with this? Is there one product that's better for this than another? Please help as we have a long ride on Saturday morning. Thanks, ladies.

suzieqtwa
01-04-2007, 10:19 PM
I haven't had a yeast infection in years ,but I got one when I started riding long distances. Not sure if this is the right answer ,but I bought some Monistat cream ,and used it the night before a long ride...it seems to work ,but I'm not sure if that is the right thing to do...Oh, I also use the Butt'r ,and I haven't had a problem. I'm sure someone else will have a different answer. Good luck

emily_in_nc
01-05-2007, 03:36 AM
I only use chamois butt'r along the creases between my inner thighs and groin area and a bit on the outer labia; not anywhere on or inside the sensitive inner labia (though I know some on this board who do use it there). For me it just prevents the rubbing on the outside where I tend to get road rash -- I ride a saddle with a cut-out to prevent pressure on the girly bits so don't need to "butt'r" those areas up! If you're nervous, just use it where I've mentioned, not in the center, and you'll certainly be safe with it!

Emily

Kimmyt
01-05-2007, 06:03 AM